New Yahoo IM Phishing Attack Surfaces
By Ed Oswald | Published December 12, 2005, 12:42 PM
Instant messaging security firm IMLogic warned of a new phishing attack making its way through the Yahoo! Messenger network on Monday. The attack, IM.Marphish2.Yahoo, attempts to steal personal information by duping a user into believing that they are in violation of Yahoo's Terms of Service. The user is instructed to contact the "abuse department" through a URL that points to the 2wahms.com domain.
When visited, the page looks similar to a Yahoo login page. However, once a user enters their personal information, the site steals the users username and password. IMLogic says that the effectiveness of such attacks is improving as they continue to build upon previous efforts and blend different methods together to further confound traditional antivirus programs.
DO NOT GIVE Anyone your login and password info. Its really that simple. They can phish all they want, don't take the bait. Where is the problem?
I will give you %50,000 dollars for your name and password..
If you don't see the money first, its probably a scam. Just don't give anyone a name or password, why would they need it except to STEAL your info, its very obvious.
Score: 0
|$50,000!?!! DUDE HERE YA' GO!!!!
UN: maniakmx3
PS: rijpistheman
LOL
Score: 0
|Well, there are also malicious users who pretend to look like a pretty female and ask you to checkout her yahoo profile. So you will be tricked to enter your passwords (no matter how you enter it, it will be incorect).
Then you get hooked.
Score: 0
|Sorry, but there is no excuse for giving ANYONE your name and password, I don't care if she is pretty. They will use any trick in the book to get you hooked..
Evidently you fell for this one. . . .
Score: 0
|Wow, that's pretty scary. I wonder how real it looks besides the URL? I bet it has tricked alot of people into it.
I had a Similar Amazon thing in my e-mail regarding my amazon account.
The web url it took me to was amazon1.com. It looked so real and convincing too. I found it strange when I clicked the link (I didn't notice the one, it was a "long" url such as https://www.amazon1.com/ax/check/id/security blah blah like that) and I was looking through it and didn't notice any terms and conditions and that it was asking for my e-mail address and personal info when amazon already had all of it. I quickly read over the URL and noticed the 1 at the end. They're so convincing! gotta be careful.
Score: 0
|