Mark Sommer
No favorite files added yet
(Jul 28, 2008 - 8:25 PM)
This article misses several key facts. The C.S. Lewis Company tried to buy the domain from the Saville-Smiths, but they refused. Other facts in the case confirm that this was a money-making scheme, not a "birthday present." The Saville-Smiths also bought several domain names that violate copyright law at the same time Narnia.mobi was bought. These were parked at Sedo.com, a site that lists domain names for sale.
The C S Lewis Company does not sue everyone who uses "Narnia" in their domain name. The law states that legitimate use is only for teaching and informational purposes, with no profit intent. (NarniaWeb.com and NarniaFans.com are two examples of sites that played by the rules.) E-mail addresses do not qualify.
The WIPO decision can be read here: http://www.wipo.int/amc/...ml/2008/d2008-0821.html
Other Sources: http://arstechnica.com/n...es-11-year-old-cry.html
http://domainnamewire.co...-off-mobi-cybersquatter/
http://www.out-law.com/page-9303
http://www.reuters.com/a...s/idUSL4101872920080724